Details of the Project 

We invited selected schools to participate in our pioneer scheme of the project and received positive feedbacks in academic year 2019/2020. Starting from the 2020/2021 academic year, all kindergartens in Hong Kong are invited to participate in the project on a voluntary basis. The project provides the following free-of-charge services to the participated schools:  

  • Dental check-up and silver diamine fluoride (SDF) solution treatment
    Children first undergo an oral screening conducted by our dentists. Silver diamine fluoride (SDF) solution will be applied to the decay tooth surfaces of the children who have parental consents. Parents can also arrange their children for dental check-up without any SDF treatment.  

    Individual dental reports on the child’s oral condition will be sent to their parents after the dental check-up. Parents are advised to take their children to see any dental surgeons at their own cost if necessary or in doubt. Furthermore, a report about the dental health of the children will be provided to the schools at the end of the school year.  

What is silver diamine fluoride (SDF) solution? 

Silver diamine fluoride (SDF) solution has been widely adopted in countries such as the USA, Australia, Japan, etc. It has been proven effective in slowing down tooth decay, and safe to use in children causing no significant impact on general health. When cavities with SDF applied turn black, which is an expected outcome, it indicates that the active decay is stopped successfully.  

  • Oral health education to parents
    Seminars about oral health education to parents are usually held in the kindergartens on the date of the dental check-up. Our dentists highlight the common oral health-related problems amongst preschool children and the findings of children’s oral health status. They also introduce the dental outreach service in the seminar.  

  • Individual consultation for children with severe tooth decay
    We provide individual consultation to parents whose children have severe tooth decay on how to improve their children’s oral health. These parents are invited for the consultation after the dental check-up and the oral health education seminar on the same day. 

  • Teachers training
    We provide training to the teachers from the kindergartens who participated in the project. The training aims to empower the teachers to effectively deliver oral health messages to children in school.

© 2020 by Jockey Club Children Oral Health Project

計劃詳情

我們邀請部份幼稚園率先於2019/2020學年參與其中的「先導計劃」。收集學校的反饋後,我們由2020/2021學年起推行此計劃至全港幼稚園,由學校以自願性質參加。計劃提供以下免費服務: 

 

  • 為一至三年級學童進行口腔檢查及使用氟化氨銀治療齲齒 
    團隊的牙醫首先會為學童進行基本口腔檢查。如發現學童有蛀牙,並已經獲得家長同意,牙醫會為學童進行氟化氨銀治療;家長亦可以選擇讓學童只接受口腔檢查而不接受氟化氨銀治療。

    檢查完成後,家長會收到學童的個人口腔報告,列明學童的口腔狀況及所需治療。如有需要或疑問,家長可自費安排學童向一般牙醫求診。幼稚園亦將在學年終時收到關於校內學童整體情況的報告。 

什麼是氟化氨銀? 

氟化氨銀(Silver Diamine Fluoride,簡稱SDF)已被證實能夠有效減緩蛀牙惡化,並且不會危害人體,可安全用於兒童口腔內,為美國、澳洲、日本等多個國家廣泛採用。齲齒塗上氟化氨銀後會變為黑色,標誌治療已成功阻止蛀牙惡化。 

  • 為學童家長舉辦口腔健康教育講座
    家長講座一般安排在檢查當日進行,由團隊的牙醫簡介學前兒童常見口腔疾病和口腔護理,以及介紹外展牙科服務。 

  • 為有嚴重蛀牙的學童及其家長提供個人諮詢
    牙醫會在檢查當日,為患有嚴重蛀牙學童的家長親自講解如何改善兒童口腔健康,幫助家長教導孩子刷牙,改善飲食習慣。  

  • 舉辦教師培訓
    我們為所有參與計劃的幼稚園教師提供培訓,讓教師們能更有效地向幼稚園學童傳遞口腔健康訊息。 

© 2020 by Jockey Club Children Oral Health Project