Message from the Project-in-charge -

Professor Chu, Chun Hung

Hong Kong owns a high prevalence of tooth decay among the pre-school children, although she is an international city for decades. Our team often receives severe cases that 3-4-year-old children have serious tooth decay and even pulpal infection. These oral illnesses cause a long-term impact on the growth and development of children.

 

We want to deliver a message to the public that tooth decay is preventable. Besides, family care and education in school also played an essential role in the oral health of children.

 

With the generous support from The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, we are able to launch the “Jockey Club Children Oral Health Project” and promote the message to the community. We invited selected schools to participate in our pioneer scheme of the project in academic year 2019/2020. We enhanced the arrangements of the project after received valuable feedbacks from the partnering schools of the pioneer scheme. Starting from the academic year 2020/21, the project will cover all the kindergartens in Hong Kong for delivering services and education to the children, parents and schools. The project aims to improve the oral health of the children in Hong Kong and strengthen the awareness of oral health education at home and in school. In the long run, we also would like to raise the public perception of oral health of our children and make it as one of the major medical concerns in the future.

 

I want to give my heartfelt thanks to our team and partnering schools for their keen support throughout the project. Last but not least, I sincerely invite all the dentists and kindergartens to join our project. Let us safeguard our children by oral care!

© 2020 by Jockey Club Children Oral Health Project

計劃負責人的話—朱振雄教授

香港作為一個國際城市,然而幼兒的蛀牙問題卻一直未有改善。過去多年,嚴重的個案屢見不鮮 — 三、四歲的孩子已經有嚴重蛀牙,甚至缺牙、牙瘡等問題,對孩子的成長和發展影響深遠。​

 

我們一直希望向社會大眾傳遞一個訊息:蛀牙是可以預防的。此外,家庭對幼兒的照顧及學校教育,對孩子的口腔健康亦極為重要。

 

我們很高興這個理念得到賽馬會慈善信託基金的支持和捐助,讓我們能夠開展為期三年的「賽馬會幼童健齒計劃」,在幼童、家庭和學校三方面提供服務和教育。我們邀請部份幼稚園率先於2019/20學年參與其中的「先導計劃」,並給予我們反饋,為計劃之全面推行作最適切的準備,並於2020/21學年起推行此計劃至香港幼稚園。我們不僅期望這個計劃能夠改善全港幼童的口腔健康,加強家校對孩子的牙齒保健和教育,奠定孩子健康快樂成長的基礎;長遠而言,我們冀望社會更關注幼童口腔健康,成為大眾關注的醫療項目之一。

我在此感謝一直以來團隊的付出及各伙伴學校的支持,亦誠邀各位牙醫及幼稚園加入我們,「從齒開始,愛護孩子」,一起守護我們的下一代茁壯成長!

© 2020 by Jockey Club Children Oral Health Project