Message from the Dean -

Professor Flemmig, Thomas

Knowledge Exchange is a way for the Faculty of Dentistry to engage with the public. It adds value to Learning, Discovery and Patient Care. The Faculty of Dentistry has been working with government agencies, non-governmental organisations, industry, and the public to work on various wide-ranging KE activities that benefit the community at large by sharing knowledge, skills and resources in dental and oral health care. Our staff and students actively share their expertise and increase public awareness through oral health promotion projects aiming at providing information, discussion, education, individual consultation, disease prevention and intervention. Knowledge Exchange is embedded in the Faculty life and development.

 

“The Jockey Club Children Oral Health Project” is our latest and most exciting community engagement project.  It fills a gap in the delivery of oral healthcare in Hong Kong and provides much needed care to more than 180,000 children in kindergartens throughout the territory. Its goal is to prevent tooth decay in young children and assess the benefits for the community.

 

The efforts at the HKU Faculty of Dentistry are led by Prof. Chu, Prof. Yiu, and Prof. Lo who are world-renowned experts in the prevention of tooth decay and the project was made possible by a generous grant of the Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust. We hope this joint effort will lead to more children with healthy teeth and that the outcomes will encourage stakeholders to make oral healthcare more accessible to the people of Hong Kong.

 

I hope that this and our many other Knowledge Exchange activities will benefit the community and help to guide political decision making, research and the education of our students.

© 2020 by Jockey Club Children Oral Health Project

院長的話—傅立明教授

知識交流讓香港大學牙醫學院貢獻社區,同時促進教學、科研和病人療理。學院一直與政府各部門、民間團體、業界及市民大眾攜手合作,進行不同層面的知識交流活動,透過分享牙科及口腔護理知識、技術和資源,致力回饋社會。我們的師生亦透過各項口腔健康推廣活動,提供資訊、討論、教育、個別諮詢、疾病防護,積極與大眾分享我們的專業所長,增進公共意識。知識交流,是學院不可或缺的一環。

 

「賽馬會幼童健齒計劃」是學院連繫社區的最新項目,令人翹首以待。這個計劃為香港超過十八萬名幼稚園學童提供必需的牙科服務,補足本地口腔護理服務的需要。我們期望這個計劃可以幫助孩子預防蛀牙,貢獻社區。

 

香港大學牙醫學院在朱振雄教授、姚嘉榕教授及盧展民教授這三位國際知名的齲齒預防專家帶領下一直努力不懈,加上香港賽馬會慈善信託基金慷慨支持,使「賽馬會幼童健齒計劃」得以順利推行。我們希望透過雙方的共同努力,使更多孩子擁有健康牙齒,從而鼓勵各持份者一同令口腔健康護理在本地更為普及。

我衷心希望這個計劃以及我們學院的各項知識交流活動能夠惠及社區,並在政策制定、學術研究及教學各方面有所貢獻。

© 2020 by Jockey Club Children Oral Health Project